Skip to content

Work Because We Choose To, Not Because We Have To

June 11, 2009

It takes less than five minutes to go to the washroom- that INCLUDES washing your hands. And touching up that black eyeliner. If you’re not wearing any, I can help with that. An equally small percentage of your life, ideally, would be spent “working.”

I don’t recommend a job as a career path. It’s risk for non-risk-takers, security for ostriches, hard labour with no guarantees at the end of the day.

I’ll put it this way: I quit my last job on my birthday in November- I walked out, jumped on a plane and had The Best Day Of My Life surfing at sundown in San Diego with my best friends, followed by sushi and margaritas on a patio. Everyone thought I was crazy to leave behind the security of $16.50 an hour for a job that consisted of tap-tap-click basket-weaving.

Six months later everyone at eBay in Vancouver has been laid off.

So basically, I quit a job I couldn’t keep anyways to have the BEST DAY OF MY LIFE! Not such a bad idea in hindsight, now, is it?

I reccomend working because you CHOOSE to, not because you HAVE to.

And sometimes you might choose to have a job because you want to learn something, apprentice at something (I would not turn down the chance to work with Donald Trump!), or network. THOSE are great reasons to have a job.

And if you’re an artist, why don’t you look here: Art Info Job Board or here: ECUAD Artswork

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 5:26 pm

    Well said and inspirational. Would that more people recognized every moment is a choice.

    Peace.
    @vinylart

Leave a Reply

