Skip to content

Why Your Kid Can’t Do This

May 19, 2009

The cheesiest line to put into an artist biography is “I’ve been painting since I was two.” This is right next to people who look at abstract art and say, “My kid could do this.” I think it under values all the hard work that goes into being an artist, to say this about oneself.

One of the reasons I’m doing this is because I’ve basically known I wanted to be an artist since I was little. And precisely because there’s a lot of time there that I haven’t actually done anything with. Having some talent and making that into a career or becoming a professional with that talent is a whole ‘nother thing.

Kindof lucky, that, if we want to stand out “all” we have to do is work hard. It’s still fucking intimidating. However, it is something that can be figured out, this “what to do now.” This is the where the professional artist lives.

And that is why you didn’t do this as a kid.

If a man has a talent and cannot use it, he has failed. If he has a talent and uses only half of it, he has partly failed. If he has a talent and learns somehow to use the whole of it, he has gloriously succeeded, and won a satisfaction and a triumph few men ever know.
– Thomas Wolfe

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

